How does a pie (sugar) pumpkin go from this…dsc_0003.JPG

…to this?

dsc_0016.JPG

Magic!

While working on school today, the girls and I were reading about how pumpkins grow. I bought a pie pumpkin recently at the co-op because it was cute. The girls have been asking me to bake a pie out of it. For those of you who know me, I need recipes, but today, after I discovered I don’t have the normal ingredients for a real pumpkin pie, I borrowed my own intuition and came up with this:

  • Cut pumpkin in half, empty pulp and seeds, and lay flat on baking pan. (I salted and included the seeds all around the pumpkins.)
  • Bake for one hour at 350(F).
  • Crust: 1 1/4 Cup flour, 1/2 Cup shortening, 3 TBLS cold water (makes one layer)
  • Scoop pumpkin into bowl, cut in 1/2 to 1 Cup sugar (most sugar pumpkins are fairly sweet already, so try first, then decide), cut in 2-4 TBLS butter, beat two eggs and add three TBLS milk, whisk and add to mixture. Blend all and pour into pie crust. Bake at 350(F) for one and a half hours. Yum.

In the morning, we decorated with pumpkins and bats made by the gals. It’s really starting to feel festive around here!

dsc_0001.JPG

