For years, I’ve loved this photograph of a woman I never met, who died while my own grandmother was still very young.  She was 30 when she passed of lymphoma, a young woman newly married.  She looked just like my grandmother and in photographs the two are difficult to tell apart.  My mother was named for her and I have carried her image with me house to house, room to room, not knowing that someday we would share the same blood cancer.  I was fortunate to have been born sixy years later.  This photograph reminds me to feel grateful.  The turbulent waters seem to mirror the expression on my great-great-aunt’s face.  Until now, I had not recognized this look.   Today, I know it well.

dsc_0097.jpg

And I found this piece of great advice on the back of these government-issued ration stamps.dsc_0103.jpg

