I’ve changed around the bookcases so that some books are vertical butting up to those laid horizontal on the shelf. This is supposed to add to the overall appearance and appeal of our house. How it sits on the market is about to be determined now that we have officially put it up for sale. We decided to list with a realtor, so you may learn more about this wonderful home on the Traverse Area Association of Realtors (TAAR) website. 

[We lowered the price and hope to sell quickly, so I need positive thinking sent our way.] In the meantime, we’re gearing up for a move South. Having lived in Tennessee only breifly, I can say I love the people we met. I adore northern living, but there really is something wonderful about southern hospitality. Land is more costly where we will be headed shortly, but there are colleges in the mountains that have permaculture programs and the smaller lots equate to greater immediate opportunities as I will be able to plant more into smaller spaces. Sounds backwards, but makes good fiscal sense.

The realtor will be here shortly to take photos of the house for the virtual tour. I’m really nervous about it, but I’m not sure why. I just want everything to look just right, but we have so little furniture in the house right now that it feels empty. I’m going out on Friday to get a HUGE festive tree to fill up some of the living room, but the virtual tour can’t wait for a tree.

In other news, the girls and I are reading Anne of Green Gables and I must say it is an extremely well-written book full of new vocabulary for everyone to enjoy. And though Anne’s monologues are sometimes long-winded, there are always subtle and thoughtful hints of a moral to rival that of her own moral-centered care-taker. I recommend it.

Kate and I met up yesterday briefly for cocoa/coffee in ER. It was good to see her, although I had all three girls with me, which made for a quick visit. I feel really lucky that I have friends like Kate who have a genuine opinion of things and can calm me down with her usual retort whenever I get a bit stressed, “It’ll be okay.” Somehow, even when neither one of us believe those words, the sheer utterance is enough to calm even the most frazzled nerve.

And so here I sit in a near-empty room with a very full heart looking out onto a snow-laiden landscape and feeling lucky for another morning, looking forward to another day and knowing our future is bright.

dsc_0003.jpg.dsc_0008.jpg

