Occasionally I re-read this article to prove to myself it was all real. Seeing Lauren and myself on the same page and recognizing how fortunate I was to reach remission brings me back to the gratitude I felt in the moment [that photo] was captured.

I’ve never read this article without crying. The experience feels so unreal that bringing it into clearer focus shocks me as much as the initial diagnosis. On the flip side, I am reminded of how fortunate I am to be well again and of all the friendships we made along this healing journey. Lauren inspired many with her story and she continues to offer inspiration, even after death, to we survivors who remember the battle and “remain relentless in pursuit of a cure.” There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t stop to think about everyone out there fighting the fight right now. We’re all in this together.

Full RE Article

Photo within a photo

