For the last several months, we’ve been looking at house after house.  We even made an offer on one house.  After firing our agent for other reasons, we sought out the help of some great agents, but at this point, I was beginning to get the feeling I really didn’t want to commit in the long-term to Charlotte.  With all of the pressure on us to buy in a “buyer’s market,” I was certain this was the way to go for us, but every time we approached a house, I found my stomach did somersaults.  It just didn’t feel right – and no matter how cool the house, it wasn’t home.  

So, now we’re on a rental hunt, but are taking it much less seriously and are committed only to the near-term: one year; maybe 18 months.  At that point we may reassess or buy something up north and continue renting down here.  We’ll save that really good, rock-bottom deal for another family who truly wishes to call the Carolinas “home.”

