I’d like to invite all my close friends and associations (on either side of the gate) to an Election Day Party.  Not sure where, yet, but wouldn’t it be nice to bring in the new admin with a little champaign?  In 2000, I waited up almost all night hugely pregnant with our first child, in front of our computer in the basement of our first house and still didn’t have the results when I went to bed.  2004 was just a few days after our youngest was born, so I listened to the radio and when the news came in, my incredible mommy hormones kept me smiling despite the grim outlook of four more years of Bush.  I think that was the moment I realized no matter how bad the administration, the will of the people is important and at least the election felt legitimate.  

This year, I want to celebrate our ability to vote by spending the day with friends and family equally as excited and eager to learn the results.  This has to be the longest election season in US history and many of you have followed along, listening to all sides; some of you have heard the candidates speak in person; others believe in the issues the candidates represent more than the candidates themselves.   Whatever the reason, join us in person or in spirit as we celebrate what makes this country lovable: Our democratic process.

