What sways me as a liberal is my love of this country’s diversity and at the root, the voice and will of the people.  This is the first election in my life-history, where I’ve felt good about voting for my candidate. Barack Obama is a good man.  I’ve followed his career now since I was in college and am as inspired today by his good works and actions as I was the day I first heard Obama deliver a speech.  I’ll never forget that moment- I told everyone around me, “This guy is going to be our president someday.”  He lit up the room with his charisma.  

And yes, it does take more than charisma to run a country, so I looked into Barack’s record at the time and was impressed by his work as a community leader.  I knew it was a long chance he’d ever make it this far, but through strength, integrity and determination, Barack Obama is now running for president of the United States.  And for the first time, I’m more than a little proud to voice my support for him.  

Now for the whys:  Obama believes in the spirit of community.  He believes in fostering an environment where young people find a voice and through volunteer opportunities take a stake in their own community and country.   In exchange for their time and efforts, Obama is proposing we offer grants to help offset the cost of tuition, so these same young people have an opportunity to continue with their education.  

Building a strong community is at the heart of all efforts.  Imagine a Hurricane Katrina event after such a program has been implemented.  We might see thousands of people willing and capable of rescue, building shelter, organizing food and medical care and just providing a sense of hope for those devastated by the hurricane.  

Obama isn’t playing the same party-politics.  He’s not your ordinary politician, he’s always first a fellow citizen.  He won’t play those games – he’s a better person than that.  Instead, he’ll breathe new life into his message and continue through November stronger than ever knowing he has been through harder times than this before and with Barack Obama, we know he’ll only work harder at finding solutions; he’ll struggle with us until this economy is once again balanced; he’ll continue to bring hope to all people that in times of need “There are no red states or blue states:  There is the United States of America.”

