For those of you unfamiliar with the National Review, it’s a conservative magazine.  And yes, it’s running negative attack ads just like the McCain/Palin ticket.  Prior to this heated election cycle, whenever I’ve heard an NR writer interviewed, I’ve typically been impressed by their approach to fair-thinking conservative politics.  The magazine makes no qualms about where it stands, but frankly, I felt it would be a bit more compassionate toward the founder’s son, a writer for the magazine who recently decided he supports Sen. Barack Obama for president.  His article on The Daily Beast is insightful:  

I retain the fondest feelings for the magazine that my father founded, but I will admit to a certain sadness that an act of publishing a reasoned argument for the opposition should result in acrimony and disavowal.

How sad – the magazine gets a shot at having its tires balanced and decides instead to give away the car.  

Also see related, Sorry Dad, I’m voting for Obama

