It wasn’t really a date, but it’s been a long while since Erick and I have spent even a few hours together without our children in tow.  We had an appointment to see a farm about an hour east of town, so we left early to survey the area and had what amounted to our first date in years.  It was nice to be able to talk with one another in the moment without having to balance any other responsibilities.  I think we fell in love all over again.  

I didn’t realize it at the time, but I was worried we wouldn’t have anything to talk about.  After years of pouring the majority of our energy into raising the girls, I wondered whether we would even recognize one another given the opportunity to have some time together on our own.  What we both discovered was the very bond that has held us together despite all the challenges we’ve faced in our time together, was the same bond that allows us the freedom to love one another despite our differences.   It magnifies our similarities; allows Erick to finish my sentences; or spurs him to laugh at my jokes even when they’re not funny (call it bathos).  

And so despite the fact we still haven’t found a place to call home officially, we’re strong as ever as a family.  Home is after-all, where the heart is, and in our quest to find a house, we found our home – and not in place we expected to find it.

